MLAAPACSE
This is the "Databases and websites" page of the "History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

History  

World history, American history
Last Updated: Mar 7, 2014 URL: http://libraryguides.medaille.edu/history Print Guide RSS Updates

Databases and websites Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Databases

EBSCOhost Academic Search Elite Provides full text and indexing/abstracts for academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. MEDAILLE ONLY FULL TEXT

Historical Statistics of the United States The standard source for the quantitative facts of American history, covering the Colonial times to the present. MEDAILLE ONLY FULL TEXT

JSTOR A high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references. MEDAILLE ONLY FULL TEXT

National Newspapers (available through ProQuest) Includes articles from 27 newspapers including The New York Times, Wall Street Journal and Washington Post, plus other important U.S., international and minority interest papers. From the ProQuest search screen, click on "Collections" to select ProQuest Newspapers. MEDAILLE ONLY FULL TEXT

ProQuest Search for magazine, newspaper and peer-reviewed journal articles about the social sciences and other related topics. MEDAILLE ONLY FULL TEXT

 

Web Resources

Africa Web Links Guide to resources on the history and culture of Africa from the University of Pennsylvania's African Studies Center.

African American Odyssey Online exhibit of African-American history resources from the Library of Congress, including books, government documents, maps, manuscripts, plays, films and recordings.

American Journeys Collection of eyewitness accounts of early American exploration and settlement.

American Women's History: A Research Guide Digital collection of primary sources documenting the history of women in the United States, including photographs, letters, diaries, interviews and other resources.

Explore GovDocs Searchable database of public government document resources from the University of Michigan.

Best of History Websites Annotated links to history websites and history teaching resources including lesson plans, activities and quizzes.

Cornell University Library New York State Historical Literature Collection of out-of-copyright books, pamphlets and other materials presented in electronic format.

Famous Trials Profiles of well-known legal trials from ancient times to the present, including images, transcripts, government documents and other resources related to each case.

Historical U.S. Census Data browser Provides access to census data from 1790 to 1960 by year, state or county and generates interactive maps.

HistoryNet Online history portal containing articles, features and photographs drawn from the archives of 10 history magazines.

In the First Person Free, searchable index of personal historical narratives and primary sources such as diary entries, letters and oral histories.

Library of Congress American Memory Provides free online access to historical materials including documents, sound recordings, images and videos from the Library of Congress collection.

National Archives Access to Archival Databases (AAD) Provides online access to government records from the National Archives.

New York State Archives Digital Collections Provides access to the NYS Archives' online collections of images, documents, audio and video.

NYPL History & Geography Digital Gallery The New York Public Library's collection of digital images related to a variety of historical topics.

Picturing the Century: One Hundred Years of Photography from the National Archives Online exhibit showcasing photographs related to significant developments in American history.

POTUS: Presidents of the United States Collection of facts, resources and links related to each President of the United States.

Presidential Recordings Program Provides access to transcripts and audio files of meeting and telephone conversation recordings made by six American presidents from 1940 to 1973.

Veteran's History Project Online archive of personal accounts from American war veterans.

The Vietnam War Declassification Project Collection of declassified government documents from the Vietnam War era.

Woodward and Bernstein Watergate Papers Public archive of papers related to the Watergate scandal and the investigations of Bob Woodward and Carl Bernstein.

 

Live Virtual Research Help

 

Citation Help

When writing a research paper, it is important to correctly cite the sources you use in order to avoid plagiarism and give credit for any ideas you have borrowed. Depending on your field of study and your professor's preference, you may be asked to use one of a variety of different citation styles with different rules about formatting, in-text citations, and references/works cited pages.

This box is designed to help direct you to some of the most common citation styles you will encounter as a student, including basic examples and print and Web resources to consult if you need more in-depth information. Please mouseover the Citation Styles tab above or choose your style from the list below:

MLA
APA
CSE

CHICAGO The Chicago Manual of Style has evolved over 100 years and 16 editions to become the main rule book for writers from many different academic disciplines, including the humanities, sciences, and social sciences, of what is commonly referred to as a footnote or endnote format of writing.  The online version of the 16th edition of the manual includes the style’s rules, along with a “Chicago Style Q&A” feature, and is updated to reflect rules for the preparation of electronic and digital formats such as e-books and web publications.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip