This is the "Databases & Journals" page of the "Mental Health Counseling" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Mental Health Counseling  

Last Updated: Aug 15, 2013 URL: http://libraryguides.medaille.edu/mhc Print Guide RSS Updates

Databases & Journals Print Page
  Search: 
 

Useful Databases for Mental Health Counseling

  • PsychINFO

    (Available through EBSCOhost) Contains citations and summaries of international journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports, in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, counseling, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Produced by the American Psychological Association.

  • PsychiatryOnline

    This database features the DSM-IV-TR as well as full-text journals, textbooks, and clinical and research news. Psychiatry Online also contains self-assessment tools for study, certification and lifelong learning.

  • PsychARTICLES

    (Available through EBSCOhost) Over 25,000 full-text articles are available from 42 journals published by American Psychological Association, Canadian Psychological Association, covering research in general, applied and clinical psychology, and in related disciplines such as counseling and mental health.

  • Mental Measurements Yearbook

    Provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments.

  • PsycTESTS

    (Available through APA PsycNET) A research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments.

 

Useful Journals for Mental Health Counseling

Here are the names of some widely-used professional and scholarly journals.

NOTE: You will need to go to "Journal Locator" on the Library's homepage and then do searches for these titles. Click on one of the databases that have a subscription to that journal (ex. the Journal of Counseling Psychology can be found through EBSCO's PsycARTICLES). Enter your MedailleOne username and password, and you can then browse or search through the journal.

Journal of Counseling Psychology

American Journal of Community Psychology

Counseling Psychologist

Community Mental Health Journal

Journal of Multicultural Counseling and Development

Counseling and Clinical Psychology Journal

 

Citation Help

When writing a research paper, it is important to correctly cite the sources you use in order to avoid plagiarism and give credit for any ideas you have borrowed. Depending on your field of study and your professor's preference, you may be asked to use one of a variety of different citation styles with different rules about formatting, in-text citations, and references/works cited pages.

This box is designed to help direct you to some of the most common citation styles you will encounter in the Mental Health Counseling field, including basic examples and print and Web resources to consult if you need more in-depth information. Please mouseover the APA Citation Style tab above or choose your style from the list below:

APA

CHICAGO The Chicago Manual of Style has evolved over 100 years and 16 editions to become the main rule book for writers from many different academic disciplines, including the humanities, sciences, and social sciences, of what is commonly referred to as a footnote or endnote format of writing.  The online version of the 16th edition of the manual includes the style’s rules, along with a “Chicago Style Q&A” feature, and is updated to reflect rules for the preparation of electronic and digital formats such as e-books and web publications.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Lea LaBore
Contact Info
Phone: 585-272-0030 x9370
Send Email

Librarian

Profile Image
Tom Orrange
Contact Info
Adult and Graduate Library Services Coordinator
716-932-2608
Send Email

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Wendy Way
Contact Info
Medaille College Library
Rochester Campus
1880 South Winton Road
Rochester, NY 14618

(585) 272-0030 x9379
Send Email

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Samantha Purpora

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Andrew Yeager
Contact Info
Send Email

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Melanie Lewis
Contact Info
585.272-0300x9379
Send Email

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Elizabeth King (Liz)
Contact Info
phone: (585) 272-0030 ext. 9370
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip