This is the "Library Guide" page of the "Mathematics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content


Last Updated: Sep 26, 2015 URL: http://libraryguides.medaille.edu/math Print Guide RSS Updates

Library Guide Print Page


EBSCOhost Academic Search Elite

Provides full text and indexing/abstracts for academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals

LEXIS/NEXIS Academic Universe

Search for general and science related news articles.


Includes archives of leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.


Search for magazine, newspaper and peer-reviewed journal articles in many different subject areas.


Web Resources

American Mathematical Society

Society of professionals dedicated to promoting and supporting mathematical research and education.

American Statistical Association

The world’s largest community of statisticians, supporting the development, application, and dissemination of statistical science.

arXiv Mathematics

Open archive of papers on mathematical topics.

Cornell University Library Historical Math Monographs

Online scans of full historical texts in mathematics and related topics.

HyperStat Online

Online statistics textbook and links to other statistics resources.

Mathematics on the Web

Online directory from the American Mathematical Society, featuring links to journals, books, bibliographies, reference works, software and more.

Mathematics Virtual Library

Directory of math Web sites, electronic journals and servers from Florida State University.

ScienceDaily Mathematics News

Articles, videos and images about recent developments in the field of mathematics.

Wolfram MathWorld

Extensive online encyclopedia and resource in mathematics, featuring interactive entries relating to algebra, geometry, calculus, statistics and a variety of other mathematical topics.

Zentralblatt Math

European-run mathematical database featuring limited full-text access.


Books/Print Resources


Contact the Library

Help at the Buffalo Campus

Buffalo Campus Library Reference Desk
(716) 880-2283

Help at the Rochester Campus

Rochester Campus Library Reference Desk
(585) 957-9370

Ask Us 24/7
Or use Ask Us 24/7 if you need to know right away!


Citation Help

When writing a research paper, it is important to correctly cite the sources you use in order to avoid plagiarism and give credit for any ideas you have borrowed. Depending on your field of study and your professor's preference, you may be asked to use one of a variety of different citation styles with different rules about formatting, in-text citations, and references/works cited pages.

This box is designed to help direct you to some of the most common citation styles you will encounter as a student, including basic examples and print and Web resources to consult if you need more in-depth information. Please mouse over the Citation Styles tab above or choose your style from the list below:




Chicago Manual of Style (CMOS)

The Chicago Manual of Style has evolved over 100 years and 16 editions to become the main rule book for writers from many different academic disciplines, including the humanities, sciences, and social sciences, of what is commonly referred to as a footnote or endnote format of writing. The online version of the 16th edition of the manual includes the style’s rules, along with a “Chicago Style Q&A” feature, and is updated to reflect rules for the preparation of electronic and digital formats such as e-books and web publications.


Loading  Loading...