This is the "Resources" page of the "Education" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content


Last Updated: Sep 24, 2015 URL: Print Guide RSS Updates

Resources Print Page



(available through EBSCOHost) World's largest education database. Search for abstracts of journal articles, curriculum guides, conference papers, and other publications on educational research and practices. Links to full text journal articles when available.

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database

Database containing more than 150,000 critical reviews of thousands of children's books, ranging from the earliest baby board books to novels and nonfiction for young adults.

EBSCOhost Academic Search Elite

Provides full text and indexing/abstracts for academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals.

Mental Measurements Yearbook

Provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments.


Search for magazine, newspaper and peer-reviewed journal articles about education and other related topics.


Web Resources

Children's Picture Book Database

From Miami University, this database contains abstracts of over 4000 picture books for children, preschool to grade 3. Searchable by keywords to locate books by titles, topics, concepts or skills.

Council for Exceptional Children

Web site of international organization of educators and other professionals involved in education of children and adults with disabilities.

Discovery Education: Lesson Plan Library

Free K-12 lesson plans in a variety of subject areas.

The Educator's Reference Desk

From the University of Syracuse, includes resource guides on various topics in education, lesson plans and an archive of common education reference questions.


Educational resources from the National Endowment for the Humanities, including links to Web sites and lesson plans for teaching English, history, foreign languages, art and culture.

The Gateway to 21st Century Skills

Web portal to classroom resources on the Web, including lesson plans, online projects and assessments.

Illuminations: Resources for Teaching Math

Activities, lesson plans and math education standards from the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics.

National Science Digital Library

Resource collections and services for science, technology, engineering and mathematics education at all levels.

NCES Annual Reports

Statistical reports on various aspects of education in the United States from the National Center for Education Statistics.

New York State Department of Education

Includes information on NY State curriculum, testing, teacher certification, school report cards, etc.  For links to NYS Standards, Curriculum Resource Guides and other publications, see New York State Learning Standards or New York State Curriculum, Instruction and Assessment>

New York State Teacher Certification Examinations

NYSTCE Preparation Guides available for download.

NICHCY School and Administrators Resource Page

Center for information on special education and youth with disabilities in schools for educators and administrators.

Ontario Ministry of Education: Curriculum and Policy

Includes elementary and secondary school curriculum in all subjects, and other publications by the Ministry of Education.

PIKA: Canadian Children's Literature Database

Includes catalog records for the National Library of Canada's collection of 35,000 children's books. Searchable by author, title, subject and keywords.

Statistics Canada: Education, Training and Learning

 Statistical tables related to education and the educational system in Canada.

United States Office of Special Education Programs

Includes information on special education programs, research, legislation, links to online publication and more.


Contact the Library

Help at the Buffalo Campus

Buffalo Campus Library Reference Desk
(716) 880-2283

Help at the Rochester Campus

Rochester Campus Library Reference Desk
(585) 957-9370

Ask Us 24/7
Or use Ask Us 24/7 if you need to know right away!


Citation Help

When writing a research paper, it is important to correctly cite the sources you use in order to avoid plagiarism and give credit for any ideas you have borrowed. Depending on your field of study and your professor's preference, you may be asked to use one of a variety of different citation styles with different rules about formatting, in-text citations, and references/works cited pages.

This box is designed to help direct you to some of the most common citation styles you will encounter as a student, including basic examples and print and Web resources to consult if you need more in-depth information. Please mouse over the Citation Styles tab above or choose your style from the list below:




Chicago Manual of Style (CMOS)

The Chicago Manual of Style has evolved over 100 years and 16 editions to become the main rule book for writers from many different academic disciplines, including the humanities, sciences, and social sciences, of what is commonly referred to as a footnote or endnote format of writing. The online version of the 16th edition of the manual includes the style’s rules, along with a “Chicago Style Q&A” feature, and is updated to reflect rules for the preparation of electronic and digital formats such as e-books and web publications.


Loading  Loading...