MLAAPACSE
This is the "Library Guides" page of the "Physical Sciences: Chemistry & Physics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Physical Sciences: Chemistry & Physics  

Last Updated: Apr 14, 2013 URL: http://libraryguides.medaille.edu/sciences Print Guide RSS Updates

Library Guides Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Databases

BioOne Search for full text articles from biological, ecological and environmental peer-reviewed research journals. MEDAILLE ONLY FULL TEXT

EBSCOhost Academic Search Elite Provides full text and indexing/abstracts for academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. MEDAILLE ONLY FULL TEXT

LEXIS/NEXIS Academic Universe Search for general and science related news articles. MEDAILLE ONLY FULL TEXT

ProQuest Search for magazine, newspaper and peer-reviewed journal articles in many different subject areas. MEDAILLE ONLY FULL TEXT

 

Web Resources

American Chemical Society Links to chemistry research, news and professional information from the world's largest society of science professionals.

American Institute of Physics Homepage Includes Physics News Update and other resources.

arXiv.org e-Print Archive Open access archive of journal articles in physics and other scientific disciplines from the Cornell University Library.

Center for the History of Physics Homepage Exhibits and online source materials on the history of physics and allied fields. Current exhibits include "Marie Curie and the Discovery of Radioactivity," "The Discovery of the Electron," and "Andrei Sakharov Soviet Physics, Nuclear Weapons, and Human Rights."

ChemIDplus Online chemical dictionary and structure database from the United States National Library of Medicine.

Chemistry Resources on the Internet List of free online chemistry resources from UC Santa Barbara.

Chemical Elements: An Interactive Periodic Table of the Elements

Contributions of 20th Century Women to Physics Biographies, historical documents and resources relating to significant female physicists from 1900 to 1976.

General Chemistry Online Links to tutorials and study guides, a toolbox, common compound database, and other chemistry resources.

National Science Digital Library NSDL is a digital library of resource collections and services for science, technology, engineering and mathematics education at all levels.

NIST Physics Portal / NIST Chemistry Portal Reference information, research publications and news from the National Institute of Standards and Technology.

Organic Chemistry Resources Worldwide Portal to web and print organic chemistry materials, job opportunities and research groups.

Physics 2000: an interactive journey through modern physics From the University of Colorado, this site utilizes applets to illustrate scientific concepts.

 

Print Resources


Chemistry Demystified - Linda D. Williams
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 0071410112

Physics Demystified - Stan Gibilisco
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 0071382011


Live Virtual Research Help

 

Citation Help

When writing a research paper, it is important to correctly cite the sources you use in order to avoid plagiarism and give credit for any ideas you have borrowed. Depending on your field of study and your professor's preference, you may be asked to use one of a variety of different citation styles with different rules about formatting, in-text citations, and references/works cited pages.

This box is designed to help direct you to some of the most common citation styles you will encounter as a student, including basic examples and print and Web resources to consult if you need more in-depth information. Please mouseover the Citation Styles tab above or choose your style from the list below:

MLA
APA
CSE

CHICAGO The Chicago Manual of Style has evolved over 100 years and 16 editions to become the main rule book for writers from many different academic disciplines, including the humanities, sciences, and social sciences, of what is commonly referred to as a footnote or endnote format of writing.  The online version of the 16th edition of the manual includes the style’s rules, along with a “Chicago Style Q&A” feature, and is updated to reflect rules for the preparation of electronic and digital formats such as e-books and web publications.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip