This is the "Criminal Justice Resources" page of the "Criminal Justice" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Criminal Justice  

Last Updated: Oct 1, 2015 URL: http://libraryguides.medaille.edu/crimjustice Print Guide RSS Updates

Criminal Justice Resources Print Page


Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text

Contains more than 200,000 records selected from the most important sources within the discipline.

EBSCOhost Academic Search Elite

Provides full text and indexing/abstracts for academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals.

Historical Statistics of the United States

Standard source for the quantitative facts of American history, covering the Colonial times to the present.


offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.

LEXIS/NEXIS Academic Universe

Search system of databases containing full text articles from newspapers, medical journals, and law reviews; company and business news and financial reports; accounting, auditing and tax sources; federal and state case law, codes, regulations and more.


(Available through EBSCOhost) Contains citations and summaries of international journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports, in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, counseling, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Produced by the American Psychological Association.




Computer Crime and Intellectual Property Section of the Criminal Division of the U.S. Department of Justice. Contains information and links about computer crimes, including federal policy, cases, laws, reports, manuals, news and more.

Federal Bureau of Investigation

FBI Law Enforcement Bulletin

FBI Uniform Crime Reports

National crime statistics for 1995- 2003. Available reports include "Crime in the United States," "Hate Crime Statistics" and "Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted."

National Criminal Justice Reference Service

Information from the National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) includes a searchable abstract database,reports on crime, juvenile justice, corrections, the courts, crime prevention, law enforcement, drugs, victims, etc.

New York State Criminal Justice Indicators

Statistics and other information on crime, adult arrests, felony prosecutions, convictions, and sentences in New York State through 1999. Data is also available by NYS region and county.

Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics

Presents comprehensive U.S. statistics about crime, law enforcement, capital punishment, gun control, arrests, jail populations, victims, etc., and public attitudes toward these topics.

The Sentencing Project

Online publications, reports and fact sheets about alternative sentencing.


Books/Print Resources

Encyclopedia of White-Collar and Corporate Crime - Lawrence M. Salinger
Call Number: HV6768 .E63 2005 (vol. 1/vol. 2)
ISBN: 0761930043


Contact the Library

Help at the Buffalo Campus

Buffalo Campus Library Reference Desk
(716) 880-2283

Help at the Rochester Campus

Rochester Campus Library Reference Desk
(585) 957-9370

Ask Us 24/7
Or use Ask Us 24/7 if you need to know right away!


Citation Help

When writing a research paper, it is important to correctly cite the sources you use in order to avoid plagiarism and give credit for any ideas you have borrowed. Depending on your field of study and your professor's preference, you may be asked to use one of a variety of different citation styles with different rules about formatting, in-text citations, and references/works cited pages.

This box is designed to help direct you to some of the most common citation styles you will encounter as a student, including basic examples and print and Web resources to consult if you need more in-depth information. Please mouse over the Citation Styles tab above or choose your style from the list below:




Chicago Manual of Style (CMOS)

The Chicago Manual of Style has evolved over 100 years and 16 editions to become the main rule book for writers from many different academic disciplines, including the humanities, sciences, and social sciences, of what is commonly referred to as a footnote or endnote format of writing. The online version of the 16th edition of the manual includes the style’s rules, along with a “Chicago Style Q&A” feature, and is updated to reflect rules for the preparation of electronic and digital formats such as e-books and web publications.


Loading  Loading...