MLAAPACSE
This is the "Art Resources" page of the "Art" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Art  

Last Updated: Sep 30, 2013 URL: http://libraryguides.medaille.edu/art Print Guide RSS Updates

Art Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Databases

CAMIO Catalog of Art Museum Images Online: Contains images of works of art from around the world. CAMIO highlights the creative output of cultures from prehistoric to contemporary times, and addresses the complete range of expressive forms. MEDAILLE ONLY FULL TEXT

EBSCOhost Academic Search Elite Provides full text and indexing/abstracts for academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. MEDAILLE ONLY FULL TEXT

JSTOR offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. JSTOR includes access to over 150 art and architecture journals. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references. MEDAILLE ONLY FULL TEXT

Oxford Art Online Contains the entire text of the 34 volume Dictionary of Art and The Oxford Companion to Western Art. Includes articles on all aspects of world art, over 1,500 thumbnail art images and line drawings, and extensive image links. MEDAILLE ONLY FULL TEXT

 

Web Resources

The American Museum of Photography Online archive of photographic exhibitions on different topics.

Archives of American Art From the Smithsonian, this is a great source for researching American art history. Over 13 million documents about the American visual arts, 1700's - present.

Artcyclopedia Fine art search engine allowing visitors to search or browse by artist, title of artwork, museum and genre.

ArtLex - dictionary of visual art Definitions of more than 2,800 terms, illustrations, pronunciation notes, quotations, and links to other resources on the Web.

The Getty Website of the J. Paul Getty Museum in Los Angeles. The Museum houses European paintings, drawings, sculpture, illuminated manuscripts, decorative arts, and European and American photographs.

Mother of All Art History Links From the University of Michigan. Gateway to world wide art history web sites including research resources, image collections, online exhibits, museums and textual resources.

National Gallery of Art Take a virtual tour of the gallery, and search the collection by artist and title. In-depth studies are included on various artists and works.

New York Public Library Digital Gallery The searchable database includes digital images from the NYPL's collections, including rare prints and photographs, and other works of art.

National Archives Online exhibits of historically significant photographs.

Tate Collection Browse through the Tate Collection of British art from 1500 and international modern art. Also searchable by artist and subject, and provides information about each work of art.

Timeline of Art History Based on the Metropolitan Museum of Art collection, this web site explores the history of world art from chronological, geographical, and thematic perspectives.

Visual Collections Contains dozens of digital image collections from museums, universities and private collections throughout the world. Divided into 5 main categories including cartography, fine arts, architecture, photography, and other.

 

Books/Print Resources

Art 21: Art in the Twenty-First Century 4 - Susan Sollins
Call Number: Oversize N6512 .S637 2007
ISBN: 0810993767

Art History - Marilyn Stokstad, Michael W. Cothren
Call Number: N5300 .S923 2011
ISBN: 0205744222

More Than You See: A Guide to Art - Frederick A. Horowitz
Call Number: N7438 .H77 1985
ISBN: 0155640801


Live Virtual Research Help

 

Citation Help

When writing a research paper, it is important to correctly cite the sources you use in order to avoid plagiarism and give credit for any ideas you have borrowed. Depending on your field of study and your professor's preference, you may be asked to use one of a variety of different citation styles with different rules about formatting, in-text citations, and references/works cited pages.

This box is designed to help direct you to some of the most common citation styles you will encounter as a student, including basic examples and print and Web resources to consult if you need more in-depth information. Please mouseover the Citation Styles tab above or choose your style from the list below:

MLA
APA
CSE
Chicago

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip