This is the "APA Citation Examples" page of the "APA Style Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

APA Style Guide  

Last Updated: Mar 5, 2016 URL: Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

APA Citation Examples Print Page

Sample APA Citations

Book - One Author
Author, A. A. (Year of publication). Title of work: Capital letter also for subtitle. Location: Publisher.
Adams, S. (2013). How to fail at almost everything and still win big: Kind of the story of my life. New York, NY: Penguin Group.
Book - Two Authors
Ballard, B., & Rockett, J. (2009). Restraint and handling for veterinary technicians and assistants. Clifton Park, NY: Delmar Cengage Learning.
Book - Three or More Authors
Bor, R., Gill, S., Miller, R., & Evans, A. (2009). Counselling in health care settings: A handbook for practitioners. New York, NY: Palgrave MacMillan.
First in-text citation: (Bor, Gill, Miller, & Evans, 2009)
Subsequent in-text citation: (Bor et al., 2009)
Case Study
Hill, L.A. (2008). Taran Swan at Nickelodeon Latin America (Rev. ed.) [Case Study]. Boston, MA: Harvard Business Publishing.
Chapter in an Edited Book
Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Year of publication). Title of chapter. In A. Editor & B. Editor (Eds.), Title of book (pages of chapter). Location: Publisher.
Dryden, W., David, D., & Ellis, A. (2010). Rational emotive behavior therapy. In K. S. Dobson (Ed.), Handbook of cognitive-behavioral therapies (3rd ed.) (pp. 226-276). New York, NY: Guilford Press.
Edited Book with Author(s)
Dryden, W., David, D., & Ellis, A. (2010). Handbook of cognitive-behavioral therapies (3rd ed.). K. S. Dobson (Ed.). New York, NY: Guilford press.
Edited Book with No Author
Coughlin, L., Wingard, E., & Hollihan, K. (Eds.). (2005). Enlightened power: How women are transforming the practice of leadership. San Francisco, CA: Jossey-Bass.
Edition Other Than the First
Hine, D. C. (Ed.). (2005). Black women in America (2nd ed.). New York, NY: Oxford University Press.
Chapter in a Textbook
Hill, C.(2009). International trade theory. In International business: Competing in the global marketplace. (pp. 167- 203). New York, NY: McGraw-Hill Irwin.
Magazine Article in Print
Chamberlin, J., Novotney, A., Packard, E., & Price, M. (2008, May). Enhancing worker well-being: Occupational health psychologists convene to share their research on work, stress, and health. Monitor on Psychology. 39(5), 26-29.
Newspaper Article in Print
Schwartz, J. (1993, September 30). Obesity affects economic, social status. The Washington Post, A1, A4.
The DSM (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders)
For Mental Health Counseling students, you may need to cite the DSM in your work. Here is an example of a reference entry for the 4th edition:
American Psychiatric Association. (2000). Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders (4th ed., text rev.). Washington, DC: Author.

Notice that because the American Psychiatric Association is the author as well as the publisher, it is sufficient to simply state "Author" at the end of the citation in place of re-writing the name over again.

In-text citation: (4th ed., text rev.; DSM–IV–TR; American Psychiatric Association, 2000).
For more information on citing the DSM, please see this link.
Citing Secondary Sources (A Source Within a Source)
See the bottom of the APA In-Text Citations tab for instructions
Academic Journal Article (Online)

If you can find a DOI (Digital Object Identifier) number, use it instead of a URL.

Forbath, W. E. (1989). The shaping of the American labor movement. The Harvard Law Review Association, 102(6), 1109-1256. doi:10.2307/1341293

If not, include the URL after the words "Retrieved from".

Godard, J. (2009). The exceptional decline of the American labor movement. Industrial & Labor Relations Review, 63(1), 82-108. Retrieved from
Magazine Article (Online)
Wilentz, A. (2010, September 6). Running in the ruins: Haiti prepares to elect a president. The New Yorker, 86(25), 26. Retrieved from
Newspaper Article (Online)
Elliott, S. (2010, October 11). News from the advertising industry. The New York Times. Retrieved from
Encyclopedia Article (Online)
Frankland, E.G. (2002). Environmental Protection Agency. In International Encyclopedia of Environmental Politics. Retrieved from
Entry in an Online Reference Work, no author or editor
Heuristic (n.d.). In Merriam-Webster's online dictionary (11th ed.). Retrieved from

For E-Books accessed through the Medaille Libraries catalog will link to the EBSCO eBook Collection. E-Books accessed there will be in EPUB format and will be cited as such.

The Jane Eyre example below shows a situation in which the version accessed was published more recently (2008) than the original publication date (1847). In this case, the recent date is used in the usual date location, with parentheses added to the end of the citation showing the "original work published" date.

Brontë, C. (2008). Jane Eyre [EPUB version]. Retrieved from (Original work published 1847)

In-text citation: (Brontë, 1847/2008)

The example below is for an Amazon E-Book for the Kindle device. This format is referred to as "Kindle Format 8" and is cited as such. This version is not available for free for Medaille faculty & students, but is available for a purchase price. Therefore, the phrase "Available from" is used instead of "Retrieved from."

Gladwell, M. (2008). Outliers: The story of success [Kindle Format 8 version]. Available from
Online Government Report
U.S. Census Bureau. (2009). State median family income by family size. Retrieved from
Entire Website
If you are referring to an entire website, you do not have to include an entry for that Website in the reference list, but you must identify the source clearly in the text of your paper.
The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics provides accurate and up-to-date information on many economic trends (
Specific Page within the Website
The U.S. Bureau of labor Statistics. (2010). Employment situation summary. Retrieved from
Karlgaard, R. (2010, October 20). What grows an economy? [Web log post] Retrieved from
YouTube/Online Video Clip
ThisWorldMusic. (2010, November 11). Study in Ghana: Home to Africa’s most exciting music, arts, & culture [Video File]. Retrieved from

In-text citation: (ThisWorldMusic, 2010, 2:33) <----Use a timestamp for direct quotations from video/audio which indicates when the quote begins.

Wiki Entry (no author, no date)
Occupational safety and health administration. (n.d.). In Wikipedia. Retrieved October 20, 2010, from

In-text citation: (“Occupational safety and health administration,” n.d.)

*Note: No retrieval date is needed unless the source material is likely to change over time (for example, a Wiki).

Interviews, along with emails or any other form of personal communication, do not need to be included in your reference list. However, you will still need to cite them in-text, using the following format and including the following information:

In-text citation: (L. Smith, personal communication, December 1, 2011).


Contact the Library

Help at the Buffalo Campus

Buffalo Campus Library Reference Desk
(716) 880-2283

Help at the Rochester Campus

Rochester Campus Library Reference Desk
(585) 957-9370

Chat with us!

Ask Us 24/7
Or use Ask Us 24/7 if no librarians are available!



Library Books:


Loading  Loading...